A trip to the Black Country

As most of my friends are now well aware and probably bored off hearing about, I’m going to be travelling round the world on a bicycle with my new cycling buddy Naomi.
No surprise then that her parents wanted to meet the man that their daughter is about to spend a year or more with in far flung corners of the world, and so a couple of weeks ago now I travelled by train to meet Naomi in Birmingham before taking a second train to Coseley to go meet her mum !

20120510-200941.jpg

20120510-201302.jpg
All good trips start with breakfast, large latte and a Danish, mmmm !
Naomi’s mum was very sweet and despite being a bit worried about what her daughter is about to do didn’t really give me a hard time, I think that the fact that I’d gone to see her was all she needed for reassurance, so we went out for a walk round a local park…

20120510-201711.jpg

20120510-201722.jpg

20120510-201733.jpg
After taking her mum back home we went to a local restaurant to meet her dad and his girlfriend, yet again I was let off the twenty questions, much to my relief I have to admit ! And so was allowed to enjoy my lunch instead 😉

20120510-202021.jpg
Naomi, her dad and girlfriend !
And so after what turned out to be a very enjoyable day we bade farewell to The Black Country and headed south in Naomi’s car for Stokenchurch where we cycled with some of my friends on Sunday and met more friends and my mum for lunch. Naomi seemed to settle in well and enjoyed the cycle ride as well as the food !
The next time I see Naomi will be in Edinburgh for the Edinburgh Marathon, I’ve no doubt there will be more food, wine, friends and photos and so another blog, until then goodbye 😉

About John Chevis

I'm a forty something single guy who spent far to long depressed, but luckily for me I found an answer in the form of exercise !! I started running and cycling on a regular basis and now two and a half years later I'm cycling the world !!
This entry was posted in world cycle tour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A trip to the Black Country

  1. Smurf says:

    I love reading these and hope it becomes a regular read when you are not here but out there living your dream! xxx

  2. naomijohnson says:

    Champagne ready to be chilled. Tabel at curry house booked for 15. Yep, more friends, wine and food – we’ll need to cycle after all this!

Leave a Reply

