Guts, Determination and 26 Miles !!

Some time ago I cycled from London to Paris with a friend of mine, Sarah Fountain (aka the Smurph) after completing the ride we both went looking for other challenges, for me I started running, mainly 10k events to start with but quickly entered my first half marathon. Smurph was also competing in 10k events and categorically said she would never do a half marathon !
Well it turns out that Smurph lied and on the 16th of February she lined up with me at the start of the Wokingham Half Marathon, she completed the race in 1hr 55mins 47secs, by this point a friend of mine Tim Butt and I had entered the Edinburgh Half Marathon and tried to persuade Smurph to join us, no, no, no was her answer, no way was she going to run a marathon !!
Turns, out the Smurph lied again because on the 29th April she lined up with her friend Hayley on the start line at the Milton Keynes Marathon !!
The weather was bloody awful, torrential rain and strong winds, really not the kind of conditions you want for a marathon but both Smurph, Hayley and thousands of other runners bravely set off at 10.00am.
Myself, Tim, Jude and Brian had gone up to support and managed to see them at the 5.5, 10, 16 and 23 mile marks, they both looked really good and never looked like they were struggling despite the conditions.
Smurph finished strongly in 4hrs and 27mins and still looked fresh, I take my hat of to them both but especially to Smurph, and next time she says there’s no way she’s going to do something I’ll just gear up to go support her and watch proudly as she collects another medal 😉

20120510-231557.jpg

20120510-231631.jpg

20120510-231652.jpg

About John Chevis

I'm a forty something single guy who spent far to long depressed, but luckily for me I found an answer in the form of exercise !! I started running and cycling on a regular basis and now two and a half years later I'm cycling the world !!
This entry was posted in marathon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guts, Determination and 26 Miles !!

  1. Smurf says:

    Thank you! Would never have got this far without people like you in my life! But I have to say I am not lying when I say I’m not doing the MDS!! Back to 10ks for me now 🙂 x

  2. John Chevis says:

    OK, this time I’ll believe you 😉 x

Leave a Reply

