Westport to Willapa Bay

What can I tell you about Westport, sod all frankly, another town that looks as if it’s permanently shut although we did manage to get some decent fish and chips !
Seriously if we believe everything the guide book tells us about places on route we would be crushed by now but we laugh at the state of some of these places and wonder what they were like before the recession, its either that or the author was wearing rose coloured specs. Or it could just be me and my high level of expectation, either way it’s not stopping us from having a good time 😉
The road from the private camp site at Westport was slightly better scenery wise as the road mainly follows the Pacific inlet to Wallipa Bay, flat mainly although apart from the last ten miles which rolled gently to our destination at the KOA campsite, on route we stopped at raymond for lunch, my first Reuben sandwich and a whole flask of coffee while Naomi feasted on ham, egg and chips and was made up with a large pot of Earl Grey Tea !!
Raymond also managed to help with another tent pole issue, the second broken pole that Naomi’s tent has suffered, Dennis’s hardware shop was huge and supplied us with a pole fixing kit so while I prepared dinner Naomi fixed her tent for the second time, on the plus side the puncture that she had in Westport was successfully mended 😉
Arriving at the KOA in Wallipa bay put a huge smile on both our faces, we splashed out on a cabin for the night, brought a bottle of wine and some oysters, took a walk on the beach, hot showers and did some laundry, this place is heaven 😉
Sorry but the Wi Fi is still very weak so struggling to up load photos again, when I get to a proper city I’ll upload some albums to face book, in the meantime let my mum know I’m still alive and enjoying the experience.
Best wishes
JC

20120713-191125.jpg
Well managed one photo, oysters, mmmmm 😉

About John Chevis

I'm a forty something single guy who spent far to long depressed, but luckily for me I found an answer in the form of exercise !! I started running and cycling on a regular basis and now two and a half years later I'm cycling the world !!
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

