Japan, World Tour days 1 to 6

It would seem that finding Wi Fi freely available in Japan is not as easy as I originally thought and now I find myself and my blog several days behind, so how do I condense six long hard days cycling into one concise blog….??
Days cycled 6
Miles covered 200 +
Hills cycled over, stopped counting !
Campsites visited 2
Hotels visited 4, 1x love motel, complete with jacuzzi bath, love toy vending machine and funky LED lights etc, very tacky !! l, 2x Business hotels, 1x Traditional Japanese Hotel.
Acts of kindness, numerous ! One in particular stands out though, 6.00pm we arrived at a hotel asking directions for a youth hotel only to be told it was closed, we were faced with a 17k cycle to another hotel as the one we stopped at had no rooms but as we stood there contemplating the route we were offered a lift in the hotel bus complete with bikes and luggage they then drove us to the motel 17k away, gobsmacked or what !!
Temples visited, 1
Castles visited, 1
Shrines visited, 1
Ferries taken, 1
Sushi eaten, 3
Waterfalls visited, 1
Beers drunk, stopped counting πŸ˜‰
Bridges crossed, hundreds, they do love a good bridge out here !
Available Wi Fi, 2
Seriously though the first issue was getting rid of the cardboard boxes after unpacking the bikes but with Naomi on the case and a generous Tourist Info Shop the problem was soon solved !!
The trip through the lakes was pleasant although Mt Fuji was elusive due to the heavy mist we never actually got to see it πŸ˜‰
The first night was in the Love Hotel, very tacky as I said..

20120813-222150.jpg

20120813-222214.jpg
Like I said, very tacky πŸ˜‰
We did visit waterfalls and a temple on day one as well, I’ll let you decide which ones which..

20120813-222355.jpg

20120813-222453.jpg
Worked it out yet ??
Third day we found the Pacific Coast Cycle Route, only it wasn’t exactly finished and we had to turn back more than once..

20120813-222713.jpg
The Bike Route !

20120813-222824.jpg
Foiled again, if only they’d finish it !!
More temples visited, more bridges crossed and the accommodation was to be a traditional Raiokan, all very proper, sushi for dinner and sitting on the floor..

20120813-223231.jpg

20120813-223258.jpg
I have to be honest here, this was not my favourite bit of the trip by a long shot, glad I’ve experienced it but won’t be rushing to do it again, Naomi loved it though and it was good to see her happy πŸ˜‰
Pleasant riding through ever changing scenery and a business hotel at the end of the day could well have been all there was to say about day 4 but for a very nice man at Hamamatsu Tourist Info who took our photo for his blog lol, I took his photo…

20120813-223930.jpg
Nice guy, sent us the photo he’d taken by email the same day, so now I’ve blogged about being on someone else’s blog, very cool.A trip to a castle late in the evening followed by good noodles and beer saw us retire early to the hotel and use the Wi Fi for a while, sadly not long enough !!
Day five saw us find another bike route as we headed for Irago and a campsite, hurrah !!
We stopped in at the ferry terminal to check details about the ferry for Toba, just turn up was the outcome so off to camp..

20120813-224505.jpg
Home sweet home, camping at last πŸ˜‰
Up early for the 8.30 ferry for Toba and a short cycle to Genko Shrine, one of the largest and most important in Japan..

20120813-224724.jpg

20120813-224806.jpg
On the ferry to Toba and views from it.

20120813-224857.jpg

20120813-224930.jpg
At Genko shrine.
After the shrine we continued to cycle to a campsite just outside Tsu, a large town about 40k away, we never found the campsite so for the fourth time this trip were in a hotel, the poshest and cheapest so far..

20120813-225149.jpg

20120813-225220.jpg
So to celebrate the nice hotel we’ve been out for decent food and lots of beer and to top off the evening an icecream..

20120813-225344.jpg
Love them, and there great cycling food πŸ˜‰

Well in a nutshell that’s the first 6 days, or at least all the good bits, if I’m honest I’m finding Japan a bit tough, it’s not so easy to find campsites or even hotels sometimes and what with the language barrier and lack of Wi Fi I’ve been a bit stressed, it’s not to say I’m not enjoying Japan more so that my expectations were of something different and I’m coming to terms slowly. My thanks go to Naomi who remains very positive and supportive, not sure what I’d do without her. Things are slowly falling into place and I think I’ll stop stressing so much now that I’ve had time to catch up on my blog πŸ˜‰
Missing you all and hope your all ok, as normal all the photos are on Facebook if you’d care to see them, in the meantime though as we have a 20k ascent tomorrow I’ll bid you goodnight πŸ˜‰
JC

About John Chevis

I'm a forty something single guy who spent far to long depressed, but luckily for me I found an answer in the form of exercise !! I started running and cycling on a regular basis and now two and a half years later I'm cycling the world !!
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

