Cairo to Capetown, Stages 2,3 & 4

100 Mile + !!
Stage two dawned bright but cold with a strong wind, fortunately it was a tail wind 😉 Naomi and I road the day together and although there wasn’t much to look at apart from desert we had each other for company, the kilometres rapidly disappeared and we made lunch by about 10.30, that was the first 71 km done so now for the remaining 95km, we took it fairly steady and with the tailwind we made it to camp easily by 3.30. Tents up, hands washed and soup eaten, time to relax and chat to folks before rider briefing at 5.00 followed by dinner at 5.30, great food as per normal then time for me to help wash up.
A quick bit of relax time in Naomi’s tent before hitting my bed at8.00, another long day looms large tomorrow !!

Stage 3
A mere 136km today so with the tailwinds it was another quick day, I rode with Naomi until lunch at 70km then I went for broke on the last 66km, making it to camp in an hour and twenty minutes, the scenery was fairly bland all day so not much to say about that. My usual routine was somewhat buggered today as I tried to put up my tent with 40mph winds, needless to say my tent is now in the garbage bin and I’m bunking with Naomi for the night, the Egyptian crew has agreed to go look for a new tent tomorrow so fingers crossed on that one !!
Good dinner again followed by photo uploading and blog writing, bed early again as its really windy and there’s not much else to do!!
Goodnight

Stage 4
As good as a day off, only 99k and with a slight tailwind 😉 Naomi and I set off just after 7.00am, it was cool and windy again so no point hanging about. We road at a steady pace on our own pretty much all morning, we had some large hills to our right and it was great to see the colours change as the sun came up, otherwise it was just more desert !!
Natalie caught up with us with about 12k to go before lunch and we all road In together, the usual fair, flat bread, peanut butter, sliced meat, tomato, cheese and chocolate spread, It all keeps a hungry cyclist going !!
I left on my own after a quick lunch while Naomi waited for Eerin and Sybil, I caught up with a guy called Alex, from Canada, and we road at a reasonable tempo until camp at about 11.00am,I had one mishap when a didn’t see a road hump and all my kit from my handlebar bag jumped out, fortunately my camera although damaged still works !!
Camp is on the beach which is owned by the hotel across the road, they had rooms so Naomi and I are sharing, hot water, flushing toilet and showers….luxury 😉
The only downside to today was that I still don’t have a new tent as Safaga is too small a town to sell one, on the upside we had BBQ chicken for dinner….fantastic, our crew do wonders !!
Bed time now, we have a day in the hills tomorrow with about 40k of climbing, wish us luck !!
Goodnight

About John Chevis

I'm a forty something single guy who spent far to long depressed, but luckily for me I found an answer in the form of exercise !! I started running and cycling on a regular basis and now two and a half years later I'm cycling the world !!
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cairo to Capetown, Stages 2,3 & 4

  1. Jude Newton says:

    Good luck. 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

